CD Universe
Music Movies Games  
»  Search  Existing Customer?Sign In
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
All MP3 Downloads Classical
Turn Pop-up Images Off
Get Johnny Cash's 'lost' album Out Among the Stars! Order NOW!
Browse
More
Blues
Dance
Jazz
Latin
Oldies
R & B
Music Features & More

Browse Movies
Comedy
Drama
Horror
Browse Games
The American Red Cross needs your help.

Featured Bargain
Fabriclive 60
Fabriclive 60
Brodinski
CD $9.05
More Bargains
.
Product Reviews By User

Holiday Inn Holiday Inn (1942) 3.9 stars Full Frame; Remastered; Special Edition; Subtitled
DVD $12.99 Buy It  Details


3 starsA Christmas classic
This is where 'White Christmas' is really best remembered. This one gets viewed evey Christmas. I really like the combination of Bing Crosby and Fred Astaire.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA) 2/28/2009 Verified Buyer

Hang On Sloopy!: The Best Of The Mccoys McCoys
Hang On Sloopy!: The Best Of The Mccoys (1995) 5 stars
CD Check Availability  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


5 starsMy girl Sloopy
This is the best compilation from the McCoys - a shame their first two albums were not available.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA) 2/28/2009 Verified Buyer

Wipe Out/The Surfaris Play Surfaris
Wipe Out/The Surfaris Play (2002) 5 stars
CD $23.45 Buy It  Details


5 starsSome of the greatest 'Surf' music
The best two albums from the "Surfaris" I am very proud to have them in my collection.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA) 2/28/2009 Verified Buyer

Best of the Rivieras: California Sun Rivieras
Best of the Rivieras: California Sun (2000) 4.3 stars
CD $14.99 Buy It  Details


5 starsAnother piece of California music history
This music means a lot to the history of California. So removed from the 'Surf' and 'Folk' that was coming out during this time period.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA) 2/28/2009 Verified Buyer

Renaissance Renaissance (1969)
CD Check Availability  Details


5 starsThis music is timeless.
A lot of people thought that the Yardbirds split to form Led Zeppelin. This is where the rest of them went. Keith Relf's vocals and Jim McCarty's drums show up here, it is a shame and a blessing what Renaissance later became.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA) 2/28/2009 Verified Buyer

God Bless the Go-Go's Go-Go's
God Bless the Go-Go's (2001) 4.7 stars
CD Check Availability  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


5 starsThe five girls do it again
It took a while to get their third piece of work out, but I am glad I got this one. They matured some since their second one, but that was some time ago.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA) 2/28/2009 Verified Buyer

Tobacco Road Nashville Teens
Tobacco Road (1964) 4 stars
CD Check Availability  Details


5 starsPart of the British Invasion
Mostly known for "Tobacco Road" but I am glad I now have this little pirce of music history,
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA) 2/28/2009 Verified Buyer

Go-Go's, The - Live In Central Park Go-Go's
Go-Go's, The - Live In Central Park (2001) 4.2 stars
DVD Check Availability  Details


5 starsGo-Go's at their best
A very memorable concert. I will watch over and over. Their music is now timeless.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA) 2/28/2009 Verified Buyer

12 X 5 Rolling Stones
12 X 5 (1964) 4.4 stars Top Seller
CD $13.49 Buy It  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


5 starsTwelve songs by five guys
U.S.'s second outing from The Rolling Stones. These reflected their live show at the time. It was originally released 10/64. "The Rolling Stones No. 2" was released in the UK 1/65, very similar but the UK has not released their version yet. 12 X 5 is a great album reflecting the bluesy period the band was still going through.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Mind Games John Lennon
Mind Games (1973) 4.4 stars
CD Check Availability  Details


5 starsLennon in this format!
"Original Master Recording" you can always trust, I also did get "Imagine". The Gold discs are the best. I would hope that they would issue the rest of John Lennon's work in Gold. I would buy them all.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Wind & Wuthering Genesis
Wind & Wuthering (1976) 4.8 stars Remastered
CD $12.69 Buy It  Details


4 starsWind And Wuthering
I loved the movies "Gone With The Wind" and "Wuthering "Heights" both from 1939. This album did not need to be on it's own, it would have marketed better as a double with "Trick Of The Tail", also of that year, then toured like hell. "Seconds Out" the live album from these two albums is the one that really shows them off nicely as the first outing with Phil Collins as their front man. It is the last outing with Steve Hackett also - so sad. They were at their best as this quartet in this period.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Coda Led Zeppelin
Coda (1982) 3.8 stars Top Seller Remastered
CD $8.55 Buy It  Details


5 starsCoda - their last, I don't think so.
The Song Remains The Same was used. Swan Song became their label. Coda works for me, I see the trend of wording. They did their songs beautifully, even if this is like a films 'cutting room floor' stuff. This does not take away from the love I have for this band and I always will, but they should have been proud of their idols and should have mentioned who wrote most of their earlier songs, like Willy Dixon, Albert King and Howlin' Wolf.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Idlewild South Allman Brothers Band
Idlewild South (1970) 5 stars Definitive Album Remastered
CD $9.25 Buy It  Details
MP3 $6.39 Buy It  Details


5 starsThe second one
The first one was great, they had to do it again. Actually these first two albums, which would later show up as 'Beginnings', was from all of that great stuff they were playing before they were recorded. And thank goodness they did get recorded.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Allman Brothers Band Allman Brothers Band
Allman Brothers Band (1969) 5 stars Top Seller Remastered
CD $9.25 Buy It  Details
MP3 $7.59 Buy It  Details


5 starsAllman Brothers with their first.
If a first album is good there will be others. This one is why there were the Allman Brothers, Duane, Greg and their friends knew that what they were doing was good and the people that would listen to them, before there was this first album, knew that they just had to be recorded for all to share. Thanks Georgia.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Winds of Change Eric Burdon / Eric Burdon & The Animals
Winds of Change (1967) 5 stars (Import)
CD Check Availability  Details


5 starsEric Burdon & The Animals "Winds Of Change"
This one and 'The Twain Shall Meet' make a good pairing. The title track was a pre-cursor to "Monterey" on 'Twain'. 'San Franciscan Nights' is one of the anthems of my generation. This too was 1967 in the midst of all that "Flower Power" year. The packaging of this collection of CD's are just the greatest, I hope this trend is continued.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Survival Grand Funk Railroad
Survival (1971) 4.4 stars Top Seller Bonus Tracks; Remastered
CD $10.25 Buy It  Details Ships Today! 


5 starsPlay It Loud
Of course Grand Funk is meant to be played loud. I heard them in concert just before the release of this album. I was not in the arena, I was outside, I heard it all just fine. "Gimme Shelter" is the best cover version of this song. These early albums were best when there were only three in the band. Plays a key part in the soundtrack of my life.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Live At The Paramount Guess Who
Live At The Paramount (1972) 4.3 stars Remastered
CD Check Availability  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


4 starsThe Guess Who's only Live album
I saw them live after their "Share The Land" album, I guess that shows my age huh? This live rendition does bring back memories of that early Seventies concert I went to and of course it has some of the material that came later.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Tommy Who
Tommy (1969) 4.6 stars Remastered
DVD Audio Check Availability  Details


5 starsTommy - - - WOW
In Surround, it's like being there. I loved this album in 1969 and I still love it, and this DVD-Audio format only enhances it more. This version comes with a second disc which Pete Townsend shows us his home studio, it shows how he still admires what he did back then, he is now able to stand back objectivily and disect 'Tommy'in a way that somewhat explains the 'Tommy' phenomenon. "Tommy" will always be with us.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Elton John - Goodbye Yellow Brick Road Elton John - Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (1973) 4.6 stars
DVD Check Availability  Details


5 starsElton John's "Goddbye, Yellow Brick Road"
"Goddbye, Yellow Brick Road" is Elton John's best. If you are an Elton John Fan and have the CD of this one and you have a DVD player with Surround Sound, this is a must. Accompanied with a second disc that is very interesting, made at the time when Elton and Bernie were at their best, Words & Music.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Competition Coupe/Astronauts Orbit Campus Astronauts
Competition Coupe/Astronauts Orbit Campus (1997) 4 stars
CD $15.55 Buy It  Details


4 starsThe Astronaut's Competition Coupe
This is their album about cars like the Beach Boys 'Little Deuce Coupe' and 'Shut Down Volume 2', just as good but a little less known. If you did get the 'Surfin' one from this band, you will want this one too.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Surfin' with the Astronauts/Everything Is A-OK! Astronauts
Surfin' with the Astronauts/Everything Is A-OK! (1997) 4 stars
CD $15.55 Buy It  Details


4 starsThe astronauts had their time to soar
This is their first album with their surfing songs which to me, at this time living in Southern California, was as good as the Beach Boys and Jan & Dean stuff that was coming out. 'Baja' was done by all of the local surf bands at the time, even The Ventures, The Astronaut's version is the best known and the best to me. Here it is doubled with the thing they like to do best in front of a College audience of their peers.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Chicago V Chicago
Chicago V (1972) 4.3 stars
DVD Audio Check Availability  Details


5 starsChicago "V"
I wish all of Chicago's first ten albums were done in this format. V is first of Chicago's single albums does stand out for that and with great memorable songs on it. The first three were doubles and IV had a total of four discs when it it was released on vinyl. But V has it's distinct place in history.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Love Is Eric Burdon & The Animals
Love Is (1968) 4.5 stars
CD Check Availability  Details


5 starsEric Burdon & The Animal's "Love Is"
Love is as love does. Wow, the long version of "River Deep Mountain High" my favorite cover version of that song. Eric Burdon's vocals are at his best on this album. This was their last and as a double albumno less as it's original release on vinyl. The packaging of this disc on one disc and all CD's should model themselves after this one. It has all the original liner notes and illustrations.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

Every One of Us Eric Burdon & The Animals
Every One of Us (1968) 4.5 stars Bonus Tracks
CD Check Availability  Details


4 starsEric Burdon & The Animals' "Every One Of Us"
"White Houses" and "Year Of The Guru" are the stand-outs on this one. The album was the least favorite of this series of albums by the Animals but I am glad it is in my collection.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

We're Only In It For The Money Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention
We're Only In It For The Money (1968) 4.6 stars
CD Check Availability  Details


5 starsThe Mothers of Invention's "We're Only In It For The Money"
"We're Only In It For The Money" How honest they were with that title but why not? The Beatles had their 'Sgt. Pepper' album in 1967 and was the kick off for the Summer Of Love that was to follow with the Monterey Pop Festival and all the 'Love-Ins' in Golden Gate park. Jimi Hendrix learned the title song and played it live the weekend following it's release.The Mothers of Invention were from Los Angeles but don't count that against them. This album is their best, although the cover has the similarity of the Beatles' album, that is not the only place I noted. "The Chrome Plated Megaphone Of Destiny" Is as appropriate of an ending as the Beatles' "A Day In The Life" This was originally released on compact disc with 'Lumpy Gtavy" which is alright on it's own but "We're Only In It For The Money" needs to stand alone. ---Flower Power Sucks---
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA, USA) 1/22/2005 Verified Buyer

EP Collection Beatles
EP Collection 5 stars
CD Check Availability  Details


5 starsFor those who could not afford the LP's
The EP never really caught on in the U.S. The U.K. knew the Beatle fans of the mid 60's could not afford the LP's and wanted more than what was coming on the singles. A-sides of the singles became the number one hits. The Beatles were the first to have A-side and B-side of the same single go to number one. The LP's never had the hits. The EP's had both. "Nowhere Man", "Yesterday", "Michelle" and "Twist And Shout" did become hits. The EP was how the original 'Magical Mystery Tour' was released in the U.K., the LP version of the U.S. became the CD for both sides of the Atlantic.
Submitted by a reviewer (Anaheim, CA) 10/28/2004

.
Current Top Sellers
More
1.Duets 
Linda Ronstadt
2.Out Among the Stars 
Johnny Cash
3.Catacombs of the Black Vatican 
Black Label Society
4.Beauty Is. The Final Sessions 
Ray Price
5.G I R L 
Pharrell Williams
All Time Top Sellers

New Releases
This Week More
1.Beauty Is. The Final Sessions 
Ray Price
2.Silver Rails 
Jack Bruce
3.Homo Erraticus 
Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull)
4.On The 5th Floor 
Rie Sinclair
5.Tarpaper Sky 
Rodney Crowell
Next Week More
1.Better Days Comin 
Winger
2.Peacing It All Together 
Lighthouse
3.Live in Holland 1976 
Little Feat
4.Give 'Em Hell 
Sebastian Bach
5.Long Stick Goes Boom: Live From Da House of Rust 
Krokus

Top Future Releases
More  
1.Loopified 
Dirty Loops
2.Only Forever 
Anita Baker
3.Midnight Ramble Sessions, Vol. 3 
Levon Helm / Levon Helm Band
4.Barking at Airplanes 
Kim Carnes



cdu4review 219572 cdu4all 4/21/2014 3:59:32 AM 4/21/2014 3:59:32 AM


To link directly to this page: http://www.cduniverse.com/review.asp?style=music&action=user&user=219572