CD Universe
Music Movies Games  
»  Search  Existing Customer?Sign In
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
All MP3 Downloads Classical
Turn Pop-up Images Off
Get Johnny Cash's 'lost' album Out Among the Stars! Order NOW!
Browse
More
Blues
Dance
Jazz
Latin
Oldies
R & B
Music Features & More

Browse Movies
Comedy
Drama
Horror
Browse Games
The American Red Cross needs your help.

Featured Bargain
Compilation Francaise Vol. 1 - Le Kiosque Aux Chansons
Compilation Francaise Vol. 1 - Le Kiosque Aux Chansons
Compilation Francaise
CD $20.50
More Bargains
.
Product Reviews By User

Best Of Tuck & Patti Tuck & Patti
Best Of Tuck & Patti (1994) 3.5 stars Definitive Album
CD Check Availability  Details


4 starsSimplicity is Superb
Tuck & Patti offer versions of songs that are simple, clean, pure, and inspiring. I previously enjoyed "As Time Goes By," but after listening to this version, I have a new favorite rendition. "Time After Time" also is a clean, crisp alternative. "Takes My Breath Away" leaves you hanging on each note as it is played simply, cleanly, and warmly.
Submitted by a reviewer (Castro Valley, CA) 1/28/2005 Verified Buyer

Surfacing Sarah McLachlan
Surfacing (1997) 4.4 stars
CD Check Availability  Details


5 starsPure Heaven
My goodness. McLachlan's voice captures and plays with each note and makes you hear the value of them. Her soulful voice is genuine, tender, fragile, and strong--all at the same time. You will play this album over and over again, finding new elements of yourself each time you listen to a song.
Submitted by a reviewer (Castro Valley, CA) 1/28/2005 Verified Buyer

Greatest Hits Whitney Houston
Greatest Hits (2000) 4.2 stars Top Seller Definitive Album
CD $17.59 Buy It  Details
MP3 $14.99 Buy It  Details


4 starsBallads and Parties
This collection is a tale of two personalities. There are the romantic, soaring ballads, and then there are the dance club parties. That's why there are two CDs in this collection. Personally, I wanted the first CD, with all of the classic hits. The remixes and party standards will appeal to some, but I don't need them.
Submitted by a reviewer (Castro Valley, CA) 1/28/2005 Verified Buyer

Greatest Hits, Vol. II Gloria Estefan
Greatest Hits, Vol. II (2001) 4 stars
CD Check Availability  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


3 starsNot her best "Best of"
For those who want dance/party mixes, get this album. While Reach is inspiring, this album is filled with a LOT of remixes that may work for a dance party, but don't do much while listening at home or in a car.
Submitted by a reviewer (Castro Valley, CA) 1/28/2005 Verified Buyer

Greatest Hits Gloria Estefan
Greatest Hits (1992) 4.1 stars Definitive Album
CD $10.49 Buy It  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


4 starsHer Best "Best of"
This album presents hit after hit, dating back to the beginning of Gloria Estefan's career. Each song is just wonderful. Smooth, romantic ballads interspersed with music guaranteed to get you "off your feet" and dance.
Submitted by a reviewer (Castro Valley, CA) 1/28/2005 Verified Buyer

There You'll Be: Best Of Faith Hill
There You'll Be: Best Of (2001) 3.8 stars Additional Tracks
CD Check Availability  Details


5 starsGreat Hits (so far)
This compilations is a GREAT set of hits from Faith Hill (so far in her young career). The first time I heard "This Kiss," I was hooked. Such passion, excitement, and anticipation is fantastic. This album is not necessarily for her country music afficionados, but I am not one of them. I could have done without the remixed versions of the songs, but some will want them.
Submitted by a reviewer (Castro Valley, CA) 1/28/2005 Verified Buyer

Come Away with Me Norah Jones
Come Away with Me (2002) 4.2 stars SACD Hybrid
CD $20.25 Buy It  Details


5 starsAlready a Classic!
Norah Jones adds uniqueness to any musical collection. Ms. Jones add soul, spirit, and heart to her recordings. And, there is not one recording on this CD that you cannot help but like. This CD is already a classic in my collection. And thank you, Ms. Jones, for putting the CD out in SACD Hybrid format. Thank you for pushing the technological envelope to benefit us all!
Submitted by a reviewer (Castro Valley, CA) 7/5/2004 Verified Buyer

Live at Blues Alley Eva Cassidy
Live at Blues Alley (1997) 4.7 stars Definitive Album
CD $15.65 Buy It  Details


4 starsWonderful Live Recording
Live at Blues Alley is my first CD of Eva Cassidy. A friend encouraged me to listen to her recordings, and this one sounded interesting. What great interpretation of some older songs, as well as some new ones. If you're going to do a cover song, you had better make it your own, and Eva does that. Eva Cassidy's voice was strong, crisp, and pure, though it lacked some of the depth that Jane Olivor's displays. All in all, it's a great recording of a great live session. The audience does not overwhelm the recording, as is sometimes the case. In this CD, the audience applause helps to make you feel as if you're there.
Submitted by a reviewer (Castro Valley, CA) 7/5/2004 Verified Buyer

Best Of Jane Olivor Jane Olivor
Best Of Jane Olivor (2004) 4.5 stars
CD Check Availability  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


4 starsNothing New?
OK, I admit it: I think that Jane Olivor can do no wrong. So why did I not give this release 5 stars? Because all of the material is recycled from previously available CDs (albeit the duet with Johnny Mathis was not on her CD previously). So why did I not rate it a 2? Because Jane Olivor's voice was/is just superb. Yes, I purchased three CDs initially to expose others to the absolute beauty and clarity of her voice, the range of emotions from her soul, the way her voice resembles at times a flute, an oboe, or a cello, depending on the musical needs. This "Best of" collection is a great way to introduce others to Jane's superb talents.
Submitted by a reviewer (Castro Valley, CA) 7/5/2004 Verified Buyer

Hot Duets Hot Duets (1997) 3 stars
CD Check Availability  Details


3 starsA very nice collection
This collection of duets is exactly what it says it is. If you want 10 lovely duets, then get this CD. It's a bit of a rag-tag collection in some areas, but if there are more than a few of the songs that you want, then for only $6.95, you cannot go wrong!
Submitted by a reviewer (Castro Valley, CA) 5/17/2004 Verified Buyer

Definitive Love Collection Definitive Love Collection (2002) 1 stars Boxed Set
CD Check Availability  Details


1 starsCover Artists Delight
The heading says it all. If you want a number of old wonderful songs performed by other than the original artists, then get this album. If you would be disappointed (as was I) by the almost absence of original recordings, then move along, do not pass go, and do NOT buy this album.
Submitted by a reviewer (Castro Valley, CA) 5/17/2004 Verified Buyer

Gold Linda Eder
Gold (2002) 3.9 stars
CD Check Availability  Details


4 starsInspring, but not soaring
This CD is a wonderful collection of music that showcases Linda Eder's range and talents. For those of us who do not care too much about showtune classics, this album is perfect to bring Linda Eder into our lives. In my opinion, her best track is "If I Had My Way." Some of her other cover tunes would be best remembered as presented by their original artists--that's not to say that Eder's voice does wonderfully with that music, but usually the original artists has left us with a much more memorable version ("Here Comes the Sun" comes to mind). Eder's voice is inspiring, but does not soar with as much resonance nor provide as much vulnerability as a Jane Olivor.
Submitted by a reviewer (Castro Valley, CA) 5/17/2004 Verified Buyer

Jane Olivor - Safe Return Jane Olivor - Safe Return (2003) 4.8 stars
DVD Check Availability  Details


5 starsYour soul enveiled
That's what will happen if you watch and/or listen to this DVD. Jane Olivor has the most pure voice I have ever heard. But that's just the instrument. What separates Jane Olivor from all the rest is her ability to reach deep into her soul and share her raw emotion through her music--both the lyrics and the music. If you do not experience an emotional awakening from this DVD, then you should see a counselor! Open your heart, be honest, and expose your own soul to the universe! The fact that I have not even mentioned any individual songs or her performances in them should show you that Jane Olivor's performance transcends the music. The music is the canvas, and Jane Olivor's soul is the message. I'd give it 10 stars if I could. 5 will suffice.
Submitted by a reviewer (Castro Valley, CA) 5/11/2004 Verified Buyer

.
Current Top Sellers
More
1.Duets 
Linda Ronstadt
2.Out Among the Stars 
Johnny Cash
3.Catacombs of the Black Vatican 
Black Label Society
4.Beauty Is. The Final Sessions 
Ray Price
5.G I R L 
Pharrell Williams
All Time Top Sellers

New Releases
This Week More
1.Beauty Is. The Final Sessions 
Ray Price
2.Homo Erraticus 
Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull)
3.On The 5th Floor 
Rie Sinclair
4.America's Greatest Hits, Vol. 8: 1957 
5.Tarpaper Sky 
Rodney Crowell
Next Week More
1.Peacing It All Together 
Lighthouse
2.Better Days Comin 
Winger
3.Give 'Em Hell 
Sebastian Bach
4.Long Stick Goes Boom: Live From Da House of Rust 
Krokus
5.Long Time...Seldom Scene 
Seldom Scene (Bluegrass)

Top Future Releases
More  
1.Loopified 
Dirty Loops
2.Only Forever 
Anita Baker
3.Midnight Ramble Sessions, Vol. 3 
Levon Helm / Levon Helm Band
4.Barking at Airplanes 
Kim Carnes



cdu4review 221322 cdu4all 4/16/2014 9:43:59 PM 4/16/2014 9:43:59 PM


To link directly to this page: http://www.cduniverse.com/review.asp?style=music&action=user&user=221322