CD Universe
Music Movies Games  
»  Search  Existing Customer?Sign In
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
All MP3 Downloads Classical
Turn Pop-up Images Off
Get Johnny Cash's 'lost' album Out Among the Stars! Order NOW!
Browse
More
Blues
Dance
Jazz
Latin
Oldies
R & B
Music Features & More

Browse Movies
Comedy
Drama
Horror
Browse Games
The American Red Cross needs your help.

Featured Bargain
Ravel: L'Enfant et les Sortileges
Ravel: L'Enfant et les Sortileges
Andre Previn / Ravel / Susuan Davenny Wyner
CD $4.13
More Bargains
.
Product Reviews By User

Elton 60: Live At Madison Square Garden Elton John
Elton 60: Live At Madison Square Garden (2007) 5 stars
Blu-ray (Playable only on Blu-ray Players) $20.49 Buy It  Details


5 starsSomething great for everyone................
"Elton 60, Live at Madison Square Garden" is over 3 hours of super entertainment for all ages. Blu-Ray video, HD audio, close to 35 tracks, makes for a must buy for anyone's dvd collection. Even my 88 year old father sat in awe, watching & listening to the whole concert in one sitting! With most every song a classic, a great performance from a super entertainer, a flawless audio & video production, leaves no reason to leave this dvd on any store shelve or website order form. BUY IT!
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle Grove, IA USA) 9/12/2008 Verified Buyer

Tesla - Comin' Atcha Live! 2008 Tesla
Tesla - Comin' Atcha Live! 2008 (2008) 4.7 stars Standard Screen; Soundtrack English
DVD Check Availability  Details


4 starsWonderfully shot, but..................
Being a huge Tesla fan for 20 odd years, I was excited with the live release of "SOLDOUT," Comin' Atcha Live! 2008. After recently purchasing a new 7.1 receiver & a PS3 Blu-ray player, I was disappointed being unable to access the surround sound menu, there was no audio options, when on the case it stated it was recorded in 5.1 surround. The video was outstanding & the audio was respectful using the "sound enhancers," but could & should have been much better if recorded in 5.1 or better.
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle Grove, IA. USA) 9/12/2008 Verified Buyer

3 Doors Down - Away From The Sun 3 Doors Down
3 Doors Down - Away From The Sun 4 stars
DVD Check Availability  Details


5 starsA sound & video experience....................
Enjoyed the new release from 3 Doors Down, "Away from the Sun." Having a Yamaha & Klipsch surround sound system makes this dvd sound as you're right there, either on stage or in the crowd. The video is well done compared to the other 200 concert dvd's I own. I own other dvd's recorded in DTS, but this sounds much different for some reason. I'd highly recommend this purchase for any rock/alternative music lover.
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle Grove, IA USA) 5/24/2008

Nirvana - Unplugged In New York Nirvana
Nirvana - Unplugged In New York (2007) 5 stars DTS Sound
DVD $16.49 Buy It  Details


5 starsExcellent, Excellent, Excellent!!
Close to 25 years ago, the music of Curt Cobain/Nirvana lives on! Performed in a such a relaxed setting, it's as though they're right there, in the living room with you. The audio/video are both excellent, near HD video, DTS sound, the MTV UPLUGGED CONCERT, an unedited version of the same with extra songs, plus interviews. Nirvana fan or not, this is a piece of true "GRUNGE" history & of course, a great addition to anyones DVD collection.
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle Grove, Iowa, USA) 11/25/2007 Verified Buyer

Cult - Irving Plaza, New York City Cult
Cult - Irving Plaza, New York City (2007) 3.3 stars
DVD Check Availability  Details


5 starsSuper, no nonscence live concert !!!
The Cult makes a awesome return with this straight forward, live concert, at "New York City's Irving Plaza." The video is shot in both color, black & white, beautifully done, with the audio in 5.1 surround sound. Ian Ashbury looks better than ever, stage presence is 2nd to none, with the band never missing a beat. Much like their last live dvd release, The Cult, "MUSIC WITHOUT FEAR," the band still knows how to "ROCK" the crowd into a frenzy. Even with line-up changes, John Temesta(Drums)& Chris Wyse(Bass)the band sounds as good as ever!! The dvd includes, "Lil' Devil," "Fire Woman," "She Sells Sanctuary" along with its many other hits, this dvd is a "CAN'T MISS !"
Submitted by a reviewer (ComfortablyNumb, (Tony) Eagle Grove, Ia.) 10/16/2007 Verified Buyer

Gin Blossoms: Just South Of Nowhere Gin Blossoms
Gin Blossoms: Just South Of Nowhere (2002) 3 stars
DVD Check Availability  Details


3 starsFair at Best.
The Gin Blossoms dvd Just South of Nowhere, was a disappointment in both sound & video. Both were mediocre at best. With todays technology, being able to remix sound & clean up the video, leaves me to believe that they "cut corners" in the making of this dvd. I'm still a fan of the band, but after watching this one, I will keep looking for another live dvd.
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle Grove, Ia.) 3/11/2007 Verified Buyer

Matchbox 20 - Show: A Night In The Life Of Matchbox Twenty Matchbox 20 - Show: A Night In The Life Of Matchbox Twenty (2003) 4.7 stars
DVD Check Availability  Details


5 starsA Must Buy !!
The dvd MATCHBOXTWENTY, SHOW, A Night in the LIfe of MATCHBOXTWENTY, rates at the top my collection of over 200 concert dvd's. With close to 100 minutes of live concert footage, along with 2 hours of extra's, a documentary, gallery of photos, lyrics & multi-angle shots, gives you quite a bang out of a few bucks. With the 20 songs, along with the awesome audience, leaves you feeling like you're right there, in the Philips Arena. With frontman Rob Thomas, he gives you the feeling of a small venue, an almost individual concert experience. The blending, clean sound from the band as a whole is pleasing to the ear, along with the great video shots, making this dvd a MUST BUY !!
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle Grove, Ia.) 3/11/2007 Verified Buyer

Cars - Unlocked: Live Performances Cars
Cars - Unlocked: Live Performances (2006) 4 stars With CD
DVD $15.09 Buy It  Details


3 starsWaited a long time for this ??
The Cars dual release, (DVD/CD) "Unlocked" comes with nice packaging, but is much like a Thunderbird with a Pinto hidden inside. I understand the material is from the mid 90`s, but the video & audio look & sound as something from the 60`s done poorly. The video is fuzzy at best & the audio makes a good match. Having waited a decade for this release, leaves with another dust collector rarely to be touched again.
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle Grove, Iowa USA) 12/19/2006

Electric Light Orchestra - Zoom Tour Live Electric Light Orchestra
Electric Light Orchestra - Zoom Tour Live (2001) 4.4 stars Top Seller
DVD $10.99 Buy It  Details


5 starsGREAT DVD !
ELO`s latest DVD, ZOOM is a live show with Jeff Lynne performing in the states for the first time in years. ELO is the first real progressive rock band, that took rock in a completely new direction. Lynne has lost nothing through the years, still sounding & looking great & is one of coolest performers then & now. The audio & video come off flawless, with the spaceship stage & the orchestrations of the many top 40 hits. Many of these comeback tours come off bogus, but ZOOM lights the sky with this lavish spectacle kick-off at CBS Television City in L.A., & will keep your eyes glued to the screen for the entire concert. A great addition to any DVD collection.
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle Grove, Iowa USA) 12/12/2006 Verified Buyer

Styx - Return to Paradise Styx
Styx - Return to Paradise (1996) 4.9 stars Top Seller
DVD $12.99 Buy It  Details


5 starsStyx fan ?? MUST BUY !!
After over a decade of average solo projects, STYX reunites for an awe-inspiring DVD - performance. Watching Dennis DeYoung come back together with JY & Tommy Shaw, reminds of the Grand Illusion Tour in the late 70`s or the early 80`s. Their latest release, ONE WITH EVERYTHING is a nice, fun performance, but the togetherness & energy on RETURN TO PARADISE shows what made this band. Even after a decade of division, they come together as one, knowing each others every move & harmonizing that is second to none. Each time I watch & listen, it takes me back to the good old days of scrambling for a seat & waiting in anticipation for the band to take the stage. As the saying goes, "You can`t go back," but this is next best thing.
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle grove, Iowa USA) 12/12/2006 Verified Buyer

Score: 20th Anniversary World Tour Live With the Octavarium Orchestra Dream Theater
Score: 20th Anniversary World Tour Live With the Octavarium Orchestra (2006) 4.5 stars Top Seller
DVD $20.49 Buy It  Details


5 starsWhere was I the last 20 years!!!!
I just recently became aware of the band, DREAM THEATER. I`m a huge rock music fan, have over 100 concert DVD`s, & for some reason had never heard of DREAM THEATER. What a band!!! What a performance!!! If I had to describe the band, I`d say they`re a mix of Rush, Styx, Mettalica, REO Speedwagon & Triumph. My eyes & ears were stuck to the screen & speakers wondering where the hell I was for the last 20 years, never once even hearing of them. I hate doing comparisons, but James LaBrie sounds much like a mix of Geddy Lee of Rush & Tommy Shaw of Styx. He struts the stage with such confidence & his voice is powerful & melodic. John Myong & Mike Portnoy sound as one, with the bass line & the drum beat, Jordan Rudess is phenominal on keyboards & John Petrucci`s fingers move so fast, I was waiting for flames to fly from all the friction!!! Of all the DVD`s I`ve purchased this past year, & maybe the last 5 years, this IS THE ONE--THE ONE & ONLY DREAM THEATER!! BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle Grove, Iowa USA) 11/13/2006 Verified Buyer

Led Zeppelin - DVD Led Zeppelin
Led Zeppelin - DVD (2003) 4.7 stars Top Seller
DVD $23.99 Buy It  Details


5 starsAwesome, purely Awesome!!!!!!
If you`re a Led Zep fan, or enjoy metal/blues, this DVD is a must!! DVD contains a wide range of material from the early days of Zep, up `till the death John Bonham. The audio is fantastic, all carefully remixed by Jimmy Page, & the video is prime mterial also. Many DVD`s of this vintage have poor to average audio/video, but this is an exception. I have all Zeps DVD`s that I can find, & this one would top the list. If you`re a Zep fan & want to buy one of their DVD`s, this is the one to buy. It spans from the early 70`s to their last American tour in the late 70`s including all their classics. From "Immigrant Song" to "In the Evening" this DVD is all inclusive & excellent quality.
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle Grove, Iowa USA) 11/11/2006

Private Eyes Tommy Bolin
Private Eyes (1976) 4.7 stars
CD Check Availability  Details
MP3 $7.92 Buy It  Details


5 starsGuitar enthuiasts, REJOICE !!
Probably metal fans under the age of 25, have never heard, or heard of Tommy Bolin. Originally from Sioux City Iowa, his career began with bands as Zephyr, to the James Gang, Deep Purple, and finally his solo career. Metal fans take heed, you must have this CD in your collection. DVD`s of him performing, are hard to find, and if found, are of poor quality. If any fans out there, know of a quality DVD with him performing, please contact me at the e-mail address below. This music has withstood the test of time, without losing its talent and popularity. Metal march songs as Post Toastee, are a must listen, with many other quality tunes, that must be heard by this, and other generations. Other Cd`s that you can hear Tommy, are the James Gang, Miami, and Deep Purple, Come Taste the Band. Unfortunatly Tommy Bolin died an early death at the age of 27, from a well known heroin addiction, and in the end, and overdose. True guitar fans, this is a must buy, and when listening, thinking of his death, will bring a tear to your eyes, as Private Eyes does.
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle Grove, Ia, USA) 6/11/2006 Verified Buyer

Whitesnake - Live In the Still of the Night Whitesnake
Whitesnake - Live In the Still of the Night (2006) 4.5 stars With CD
DVD $20.49 Buy It  Details


3 starsNicely done, but----
It doesn`t matter what all you "metal fans" say, David Coverdale, is a Robert Plant wanna-be!!! I may be a little off base on this, but if you watch closely, it looks as if Coverdale is lip-syncing. It`s a nicely done live DVD, but everytime I watch it, I`m waiting for them to break out and play some Zep songs. The Dvd video and audio is very good, and they do perform most of their best numbers, so if you are a "real" Whitesnake fan, buy this DVD.
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle Grove, Iowa USA) 5/28/2006

Private Eyes Tommy Bolin
Private Eyes (1976) 4.7 stars
CD Check Availability  Details
MP3 $7.92 Buy It  Details


5 starsUnknown to many, Ultimate to some !!
Being from Iowa, don`t get the idea that this review is biased. Out of a collection of over 1,000 CD`s and DVD`s, this is one of the best guitar works made. Well ahead of his time, his talent is unknown to many, but if you like polished guitar works of art, BUY THIS ALBUM. Dying an untimely death, many of his works, are unknown to most people under 40 years old. I have found two DVD`s with him performing with Deep Purple, and if there are any other DVD`s available, PLEASE LET ME KNOW!! If you are just beginnng to listen to quality guitar, start your collection with this CD. Thank you for letting me share my views on this great talent. Tony
Submitted by a reviewer (Eagle Grove, Iowa, USA) 5/21/2006 Verified Buyer

.
Current Top Sellers
More
1.Duets 
Linda Ronstadt
2.Out Among the Stars 
Johnny Cash
3.Catacombs of the Black Vatican 
Black Label Society
4.Beauty Is. The Final Sessions 
Ray Price
5.G I R L 
Pharrell Williams
All Time Top Sellers

New Releases
This Week More
1.Beauty Is. The Final Sessions 
Ray Price
2.Silver Rails 
Jack Bruce
3.Homo Erraticus 
Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull)
4.On The 5th Floor 
Rie Sinclair
5.Tarpaper Sky 
Rodney Crowell
Next Week More
1.Better Days Comin 
Winger
2.Peacing It All Together 
Lighthouse
3.Live in Holland 1976 
Little Feat
4.Give 'Em Hell 
Sebastian Bach
5.Long Stick Goes Boom: Live From Da House of Rust 
Krokus

Top Future Releases
More  
1.Loopified 
Dirty Loops
2.Only Forever 
Anita Baker
3.Midnight Ramble Sessions, Vol. 3 
Levon Helm / Levon Helm Band
4.Barking at Airplanes 
Kim Carnes



cdu4review 417146 cdu4all 4/21/2014 5:50:29 AM 4/21/2014 5:50:29 AM


To link directly to this page: http://www.cduniverse.com/review.asp?style=music&action=user&user=417146