CD Universe
Music Movies Games  
»  Search  Existing Customer?Sign In
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
All MP3 Downloads Classical
Turn Pop-up Images Off
Get Johnny Cash's 'lost' album Out Among the Stars! Order NOW!
Browse
More
Blues
Dance
Jazz
Latin
Oldies
R & B
Music Features & More

Browse Movies
Comedy
Drama
Horror
Browse Games
The American Red Cross needs your help.

Featured Bargain
Compilation Francaise Vol. 1 - Le Kiosque Aux Chansons
Compilation Francaise Vol. 1 - Le Kiosque Aux Chansons
Compilation Francaise
CD $20.50
More Bargains
.
Product Reviews By User

Relapse Eminem
Relapse (2009) 4 stars Top Seller Definitive Album
CD $8.75 Buy It  Details
MP3 $10.89 Buy It  Details


2 starsNot very good
When you start forcing it, there's a need to hang it up. Dre's production isn't anything special on this album, almost as mundane as his disappointing effort on Jay-Z's Kingdom come, and eminem is clearly just back to pull the cash lever with loyal fans who were singing Encore's praise until it was apparent how bad it was. A lack of growth in subject matter has been many artists' downfall, resulting from the lack of anything new to say. Also, he needs to drop the annoying accent because it makes something that's already bad sound worse. It's disappointing because Eminem is one of the few gifted lyricists with mainstream appeal.
Submitted by a reviewer (Scottsdale, AZ) 5/27/2009

Deeper Than Rap Rick Ross
Deeper Than Rap (2009) 3.5 stars
CD $11.69 Buy It  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


5 starsTight CD
In the past, Rick Ross has been hit or miss with me, but he brought his talents to another level on this CD. The production is some of the best I've heard in a while on a CD from start to finish, and Rick Ross settled into his comfort zone rhyming on this CD. Truly is banging from start to finish. As far as all the back and forth beef goes, 50 Cent has run out of imagination on his work and hopefully he will re-capture some of his underground scene fire. However, I've never understood why he looks down on Ross since his lyricism has rapidly deteriorated from the pre-Aftermath days until now, while I've seen Rick Ross grow leaps and bounds from when he was just a spot performer on Trina and Trick Daddy projects.
Submitted by a reviewer (Queen Creek, AZ) 4/23/2009

T.O.S.: Terminate on Sight G-Unit
T.O.S.: Terminate on Sight (2008) 4 stars
CD $18.89 Buy It  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


2 starsWhat's going on?
Unfortunately, 50 Cent has continued to slide down as a creative artist, relying more on his base of fans garnered during his early days with Aftermath. When he initially gained the nationwide exposure I thought he deserved in 2002-2003, I was hoping that his undeniable skills at the time would only be accented by gaining such a stage and more access to better production and ways to drive his own creative vision. Instead, all I see 4-5 years later is an artist concerned primarily with the bottom line, which is fine, but just doesn't agree with me as I only want quality music, whether in a party or socially conscious vain. I would like to see artists creativity driving them rather than the trappings of fortune or fame, which I understand is hard to do for most as the public is truly fickle. This music simply is subpar with Banks and Yayo adding little to the project as usual because they aren't top line performers. I simply want the Ghetto Quran version of 50 Cent back because the man is truly capable, just not applying himself lately.
Submitted by a reviewer (Villa Rica, GA) 7/8/2008

Tha Carter III - Explicit Version Lil Wayne
Tha Carter III - Explicit Version (2008) 3.2 stars Top Seller Explicit
CD $11.65 Buy It  Details
MP3 $10.89 Buy It  Details


4 starsRap creative star
You will hear from East Coast fans or close minded fans that this album was a disappointment, which simply isn't true. Lil Wayne has continued to grow throughout the years from his youthful days on the mic into one of the shining stars of the day. He is truly one of the most creative artist to ever rap in the vein of Andre 3000 and others that have pushed raps boundaries. The only complaint I have about him is the overuse of the voice changer when making too many songs lately, but otherwise he takes chances with different song concepts that al lot of rappers are afraid to go near. In turn, he has a range, which alludes many in the game, even his more easily accepted predecessors (due more to geography at times than anything) of the East coast like Jay-Z or Nas, as sometimes their concepts get too formulaic (especially the former). Wayne has the ability to touch different types of plateaus and actually execute within his own style like Andre 3000, but then make a commercial hit like, "Lollipop," then turn over to a conscious record like, "Tie My Hands," within Nas' comfort zone. Quite an imagination with a wealth of talent to deliver and execute his concepts within his music, which is quickly making Wayne much more than just another rap artist, but truly a larger than life rock icon in the vain of Jimmy Hendrix or 2pac.
Submitted by a reviewer (Villa Rica, Ga) 7/5/2008

Real Testament Plies
Real Testament (2007) 4.2 stars Top Seller Definitive Album
CD $8.69 Buy It  Details


2 starsDisappointing
As I anticipated his major label debut, Plies disappointed with this release. Although his mix tapes seemed to point to a different kind of music, he seemed to follow trends instead of setting himself apart as an artist. His subject matter, while redundant, has also lost appeal to how he says it as he tends to repeat the same phrases too often. Hopefully, this won't be indicative of future works from him as I still sense he has potential if he just follows his own path. From his underground offerings, he seems to have a lot to say. Hopefully, next time he'll vary his delivery and lyrics as well as take more chances with his music to set himself apart from the pack.
Submitted by a reviewer (Atlanta, GA) 10/8/2007

Underground Kingz Ugk
Underground Kingz (2007) 4.8 stars Definitive Album
CD $13.85 Buy It  Details
MP3 $12.99 Buy It  Details


4 starsVintage UGK
In this CD, the UGK returned to form, which has been lackluster on their solo projects. In this release, you can see Pimp C's production influence, which strongly made the duo stand out during the alte 90's. Now as southern hip hop legends and pioneers, they seem back on their game with this latest release. Hopefully, there will more nice albums to come from the duo as well as better solo efforts from them in the future.
Submitted by a reviewer (Atlanta, GA) 10/8/2007

Curtis 50 Cent
Curtis (2007) 3.5 stars
CD $11.99 Buy It  Details
MP3 Not Available  Details


2 starsDismal
AS most megastars before him have gone, 50 Cent simply has run out of subject matter. As a listener who goes back to his Columbia days, I know he has seen better days on the mic but like most who lose sight of their craft once they taste success, 50 Cent is simply going through the motions at this point. He was never going to be mistaken for a top 5 MC, but he did display good skills back in those days and even during the much hyped GRODT project (which was somewhat overrated as well considering in my opinion a better flow in the past). As most rappers face, he's simply run out of things to rap about and creativity is a must in any genre of music...it's what separates the ok from the great ones.
Submitted by a reviewer (Atlanta, GA) 9/22/2007

Restless Trae
Restless (2006) 4.5 stars
CD $13.19 Buy It  Details


4 starsTrae Trae delivers
Trae has been toiling in the shadows for years independently and finally gets his first major solo exposure. He's shown up on Z-ro's hot major releases from Rap-A-Lot and other projects from the label. His Rap-a-Lot debut is refreshing and tight. Throws you back to yesteryear when albums had variety...he includes a mix of pain, which he and Z-ro and trademarked, songs to ride to and songs that'll get you crunk. His rhymes are fresh and heartfelt throughout. The features are strong and he has some familliar faces from the Houston local scene that get on this CD, which is refreshing since I'm all for whoever has the best talent. As always, the Z-ro feature is a golden moment and Lil Boss always shines. Pick this up and support the real talent out here.
Submitted by a reviewer (Nashville, TN) 7/26/2006

Loyal to the Game Tupac
Loyal to the Game (2004) 3.8 stars
CD $11.05 Buy It  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


3 starsRelease Original Masters
Amaru continues to remix tupac's works into questionable material. Originals such as Don't You Trust Me and N.I.G.G.A., although sounding dated, still sound good in their original state. The Eminem production does not suit Tupac at all and hopefully the fans have suffered through that debacle unnecessarily for the last time. Like a previous reviewer said, the only tracks that remotely approach the original flavor come from the other producers on the disc. All the Eminem productions inexplicably altered 2pac's voice and use simple lackluster production. If you can sit through the overall lack of production, 2pac is lyrically razor sharp as always even though most of these tracks are early productions from him. Just goes to show, as he evolved he was always innovating and creatively ahead of his peers. Hopefully, we'll get the majority of these master recordings mixed properly and rleased in CD format.
Submitted by a reviewer (Nashville, TN) 7/18/2006

Me Against the World Tupac
Me Against the World (1995) 5 stars Top Seller
CD $11.69 Buy It  Details


5 starsTupac's Masterpiece
This Cd is one of the greatest works by a rap musician of all time for the simple fact that it was groundbreaking. At the time, Snoop and the G-Funk sound was dominant over rap as well as gangster images. However, Tupac introduced his soul and pain on records in such a personal way, there was a true crossover effect to mainstream genres of music. He was seen as a rap musician, not just another rapper. His bogus sexual assault charge and shooting in New York City seemed to paint Pac in a corner at the time but he certainly came out with fire. Definitely, the best album of the 90's and arguably the best of all time.
Submitted by a reviewer (Nashville, TN) 7/18/2006

Let the Truth Be Told Z-Ro
Let the Truth Be Told (2005) 4.7 stars
CD $19.09 Buy It  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


4 starsAnother Good Effort
JusJust aJust as his previous releases have shown his versatility, this latest effort is again sparkling. The most impressive trait of Z-ro has been his constant improvement each time Iv'e heard him from CD to CD (and literally label to label). The most important aspect of a rap artist is interest in his story and Z-ro hasn't run out of things to say in all this time. If Rap-a-lot pushes the right promotional buttons, he is a platinum artist...plain and simple. Although I thought Mike Dean rushed a few of the beats on this one, Z-ro stands head and shoulders above anyone rapping today. His several styles are unique, he possesses a background that was rap until this pop rap took over, and Rap-a-lot is the perfect label to allow him to remain himself....rapping about real life. Put that all together and you don't just have platinum this time, but for years to come.
Submitted by a reviewer (Atlanta, GA) 5/11/2005

Life of Joseph W. McVey Z-Ro
Life of Joseph W. McVey (2004) 4.8 stars
CD $18.75 Buy It  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


5 starsWater for the hot desert
I've been checking out Z-ro since I heard him on a visit to Houston a while back....he has not dissappointed with his first major recording. Underground, he has the streets on lock but now real hip hop/rap fans won't sleep on this man. He has the best voice and delivery I've actually heard since 2pac....a strong endowrsement. His command of a track and depths of his writing skills are nice. He has range which is lacking of course in today's hip pop radio market of artists having made up beefs of which one them will get to sit next to Britney Spears this year. This type of music is what we need to support as a culture so we can bring back the mid 90's flavor to hip hop/rap and get some real artists back out here...not just cornballs coming on MTV saying let's keep it real. Oh yeah...don't forget to support Z-ro's old material....he's been around for a little bit...the boy's hot. Rap-a-lot hit a grand slam with this one.
Submitted by a reviewer (Atlanta, GA) 3/23/2004

Grand Champ Dmx
Grand Champ (2003) 4.3 stars
CD $11.69 Buy It  Details
MP3 $10.89 Buy It  Details


3 starsnot his best
At this point, DMX has begun to become a bit too predictable with the abrasive growling and dizzying yelling throughout his recent material. He will always gain my vote for livest rapper of all time without a doubt, but his content seems to be stuck on gaining props which we all gave him years ago. A need to move on to more relevant issues in his rhymes is apparent and the production is not always there for this latest CD. However, no one can argue with his lyrical talent when he nails a track which he often does.
Submitted by a reviewer (Atlanta, GA) 3/6/2004

Cheers Obie Trice
Cheers (2003) 4.5 stars
CD $13.69 Buy It  Details


1 starsHuh?
This CD lost me. Obviously, Trice is not one of Shady's stronger members but this is inexcusable. Frankly, I found nothing of substance on the entire album which is even hard to say in these musically challenged times we live in. Lame lyrics and poor production plague this CD....hopefully no follow ups will be coming soon. These types of coat tail artists are what are sinking hip hop which I love and turing it into hip pop.
Submitted by a reviewer (Atlanta, GA) 3/6/2004

Too Gangsta For Radio Too Gangsta For Radio (2000) 3 stars
CD Check Availability  Details


3 starsOkay
This CD is okay considering the hard times that Death Row has approached recently. The two 2pac songs which are presented closely to their original recording as opposed to their appearances on Until the End of Time are good especially Thug Nature. The contributions from Tha Rrealest cements in my mind that his direction is different from 2pac. Criticism of his resemblence to 2pac on his previous works seems unwarranted here as he takes a different approach on his two songs. Crooked I is dynamic in his debut and lives up to the underground hype he has recieved over the past few years. Even the contributions from the lesser figures on the album are descent. I could have done without Ja Rule's rendition of Dogg Pound for life and Above the Law somewhat disappointed. All in all though...a pretty descent comeback for Death Row.
Submitted by a reviewer (Atlanta, GA) 3/6/2004

Dysfunktional Family Dysfunktional Family (2003) 4.2 stars Soundtrack
CD Check Availability  Details


2 starsNot DR at it's best
Quite frankly, this album was a dsiappointment. The talent only shines in a few places...Crooked I is the most dynamic unheard voice in hip hop and Eastwood was a surprising adition However, too many never will be's crowd the sound track. Jay'z's remix track and Juvenille's track help with the Crooked I lyrical assaults. The production from Vegas is not ideal and Death Row should be looking for a better fit for Crooked I's unbelievabble talent. Nothing besides Crooked I who I expected to wow me stood out on this album. Better can be done.
Submitted by a reviewer (Atlanta, GA) 3/6/2004

College Dropout Kanye West
College Dropout (2004) 4.2 stars Definitive Album
CD $17.19 Buy It  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


3 starsGood debut
Kanye West has gained a good reputation as a producer. His lyrical side finally escapes the bottle for the first time. His debut album features a number of guest spots and West's trademark sound. His infusion of soul has been refreshing on his production but can seem predictable at times much like Timberland's sound is. However, his willingness to stretch his lyrical content beyond tired blather which appears on Clear Channel and MTV/BET is refreshing. Probably he needs a few more years gaining a rapping style....remeber early recordings of greater forefathers of hip hop have not always been spectacular. His debut is much better than average. Hopefully we'll hear progress on the next project.
Submitted by a reviewer (Atlanta, GA) 3/6/2004

Blood in My Eye Ja Rule
Blood in My Eye (2003) 3.3 stars
CD Check Availability  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


2 starsDisappointing
Of course, the feuding on wax will always be a part of hip hop, but this album simply misses the mark. Often, Ja Rule simply yells across poorly done production. Few of the guest really add much to the album including Hussein Fatal late of the infamous Outlaw camp from 2pac days. Undoubtedly, Ja Rule's predictable regression as an artist began with The Last Temptation and the slope is slippery as many former stars can attest to. Ja Rule's comparisons to 2pac and slamming for wanting to be him is unwarranted as they are vastly different types of artists. Ja Rule simply fumbled the snap on this one though.
Submitted by a reviewer (Atlanta, GA) 3/6/2004

Black Album Jay-Z
Black Album (2003) 4 stars
CD $15.29 Buy It  Details


3 starsJay-Z's latest release is a bDescent
The latest release from Jay-Z is a more favorable title than it's predecessor, The Blueprint 2. Of Jay-Z actually offers a more warm approach this time around taking fans into his world for a change. Definitely, his lyrical delivery has improved since is 1996 debut. this album is good for the highlights and is consistent for Jay-Z. Not much spectacular here...just consistent rymes and production which make the CD worth a listen.
Submitted by a reviewer (Atlanta, GA) 3/6/2004

Beg for Mercy G-Unit
Beg for Mercy (2003) 3.8 stars Top Seller
CD $10.99 Buy It  Details
MP3 $9.99 Buy It  Details


2 starsBland
On this album, LOn this album, Lloyd Banks and surprisingly Young Buck outshine 50 Cent throughout. Often, 50 Cent fumbles the delivery of poorly written lyrics for someone of his talent. Also, the album suffers from subpar production and ill concieved song concepts throughout. The disappointment of this album is unfortunate since I've been a fan of 50 Cent since his early days with Columbia and through his mix tape appearances. Sadly, it seems he may have already reached his potential because back then I felt he needed more promotion and production, but now it seems he has reached a ceiling and the predictable regression which befells most artists is next.
Submitted by a reviewer (Atlanta, GA) 3/6/2004

.
Current Top Sellers
More
1.Duets 
Linda Ronstadt
2.Out Among the Stars 
Johnny Cash
3.Catacombs of the Black Vatican 
Black Label Society
4.Beauty Is. The Final Sessions 
Ray Price
5.G I R L 
Pharrell Williams
All Time Top Sellers

New Releases
This Week More
1.Beauty Is. The Final Sessions 
Ray Price
2.Homo Erraticus 
Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull)
3.On The 5th Floor 
Rie Sinclair
4.America's Greatest Hits, Vol. 8: 1957 
5.Tarpaper Sky 
Rodney Crowell
Next Week More
1.Peacing It All Together 
Lighthouse
2.Better Days Comin 
Winger
3.Give 'Em Hell 
Sebastian Bach
4.Long Stick Goes Boom: Live From Da House of Rust 
Krokus
5.Long Time...Seldom Scene 
Seldom Scene (Bluegrass)

Top Future Releases
More  
1.Loopified 
Dirty Loops
2.Only Forever 
Anita Baker
3.Midnight Ramble Sessions, Vol. 3 
Levon Helm / Levon Helm Band
4.Barking at Airplanes 
Kim Carnes



cdu4review 618833 cdu4all 4/16/2014 6:18:24 PM 4/16/2014 6:18:24 PM


To link directly to this page: http://www.cduniverse.com/review.asp?style=music&action=user&user=618833